Home > Twin Cities

Twin Cities

Richmond Hill – Canada

The city has grown since the 90s thanks to the development of the medical industry and the high-tech industry and thus attracted many entrepreneurs. It also has a telescope – the second largest in the country.

Xiamen – China

The ties with the city of Xiamen began in 2007 and are ongoing continuously. Xiamen is a port city in Fujian Province and is considered one of the economic centers in Southeast Asia. The city has 3.5 million inhabitants.

The Kurortny District of Saint Petersburg – Russia

The district of Korortny is a green lung of the city of St. Petersburg, with a soft marine climate surrounded by green and spectacular forests. The district borders the Gulf of Finland and attracts many vacationers and tourists. It has a large number of sanatoriums, luxury health clubs, restaurants, impressive housing units and more.

Minsk – Belarus

In May 2016 Netanya signed an agreement to establish twin city ties with the Central District of Minsk (Belarus). The agreement was signed by the head of Administration of the Minsk Central District Ms. Anna Matelskaya and the Mayor of Netanya Mrs. Miriam Fierberg-Ikar Within Minsk’s Central District territory are situated the old city, the Victory Monument, the monument in memory of writer Yanka Kupala and more. Also in Minsk’s Central District are the exhibition centers of the city of Minsk as well as commercial and industrial areas and research institutes.  

Moscow – Russia

  In 7/6/2013 was signed an agreement of friendship and cooperation between Netanya and the western district of Moscow. The western district is considered one of the most prestigious and green in the Russian capital. It was established in 10/7/1991 In this district are located embassies, research institutes, the University of Moscow, as well as an ancient synagogue        

Poděbrady – Czech Republic

A cooperation agreement was signed on the 7th of April 2014 by Mayor Miriam Fierberg-Ikar.

Podebrady is a spa city located in Bohemia on the banks of the River Labe east of Prague.

In the city there is a fortress built in the Middle Ages which is a tourist attraction.

As part of the ties, reciprocal visits between schools from Netanya and Podebrady have taken place.

Gelendzhik – Russia

A Twin City agreement was signed on 31/01/13 by Mayor Miriam Fierberg – Ikar.
Gelendzhik was founded in 1831 and is formally a city since 1915.
It is a resort town located in the Krasnodar area on the Black Sea coast. It covers 102 hectares and has 91408 inhabitants.

Siófok – Hungary

A twin city agreement was singed 30/04/09 by Mayor Yoel Elroy.
Siófok is a city in the south of Hungary located on the banks of theBalaton Lake. It is known as Balaton Lake’s Capital and is a popular tourist destination due to its mild climate. The city lies 106 km from Budapest and has a rich historical tradition. Even in ancient times the population was diverse – during the Roman and the Neolithic periods. The name as we know it today has been used starting 1790.

Como – Italy

A Twin City agreement was signed on 31/10/04 by Mayor Miriam Fierberg – Ikar.

Sarcelles – France

A twin city agreement was signed 23/03/88 by Mayor Yoel Elroy.
Sarcelles is a suburban city located 15 km from the French capital, Paris. The city is divided into two parts: the old part is called “The Village” in the center of which is a church, and is separate from the rest of the city. The city’s population if 58,000 people. During the 18th and 19th centuries Sarcelles relied on vegetable crops and grape vines. After World War II the city experienced growth through immigration, offering both a traditional atmosphere and financial centers.

Discover Netanya: Iris Reserve